United Kingdom Territory with the Republic of Ireland

A statement by Colonel Paul Main, Chief Secretary, United Kingdom Territory with the Republic of Ireland:

ON behalf of the Territorial Commander, and with the approval of the General, I am pleased to announce that, with effect from 1 September 2021, our territory will be known as the ‘United Kingdom and Ireland Territory’.

For the past 30 years the territory has been known as the ‘United Kingdom Territory with the Republic of Ireland’. This has given some the impression that our work in the Republic of Ireland is an afterthought rather than an integral part of the territory.

The new name is shorter and includes the four nations of the United Kingdom – England, Northern Ireland, Scotland and Wales. It is not a perfect description as the Channel Islands and the Isle of Man are part of the territory but not politically part of the United Kingdom or Ireland. However, they are also integral and vital parts of our territory.

The cost of the name change will be kept to a minimum. Stationery bearing the existing name can still be used for the next 12 months but all electronic communications should be updated to reflect the territory’s new name from 1 September 2021.





You May Also Like

UPDATE 7/3 Rio Grande Valley flooding: The Salvation Army responds

Dallas, Texas (July 3, 2019) – Staff and volunteers from several Salvation Army Corps and Service Units in the Rio Grande ...

The Salvation Army in Papua New Guinea

The work of The Salvation Army officially began in Papua New Guinea (PNG) in 1956 under the auspices of the ...

Chief of the Staff Leads Easter Celebrations at Croydon Citadel

‘WE will wait at the Cross, a hungry generation’ declared a slide on the screen during the playing of ‘At ...